Maine 207-467-3767

Uncontested Divorce

If you and your spouse have decided to separate or divorce and it is a relatively amicable situation, please consider mediation and/or an uncontested divorce.  As a mediator, I am not able to give legal advice to either party.  I do, however, meet with the parties in person or by phone, explain the process, facilitate discussion, and fill out the necessary paperwork.  In New Hampshire, the parties can waive attendance at final hearing.  In Maine, the plaintiff must attend a short, uncontested court hearing, after a 60-day wait period.  There is no wait period in New Hampshire, although, as a practical matter, it usually takes a few weeks to 30 days for the court to review and sign off on the papers.  An uncontested divorce in Maine or NH should not cost more than $1,500, including filing fee and costs.  However, QDRO (transfer of retirement accounts) and Quitclaim Deed (transfer of real estate) preparation is extra.  Feel free to give me a call if you wish to discuss further.  I do not charge for the first 30 minutes of the consultation.

Feel free to call me at (207) 467-3767 in Kennebunk or (603) 766-1970 in Portsmouth to discuss your case in greater detail. 

Contact The Firm · Licensed In New Hampshire, Massachusetts And Maine

I encourage my clients to email or call me any time, day or night. If in New Hampshire call 603-766-1970 and if in Maine, call 207-467-3767 for help in the complicated issues of criminal law and family law. Schedule a free initial consultation as soon as possible to start yourself off on the right path.

Menu